The english park
Work on the park began in 1799. It was modelled on the picturesque English countryside, with a blurred boundary between cultivated park and natural landscape. The River Sörboån was dammed, canals and ponds were dug. Islands were joined by arched white bridges, and completely new parkscapes and water landscapes were designed. The park had secret garden passages, outdoor altars, a trinity well, a summerhouse, sculptures, and a skittle alley. Natural romanticism was in vogue. In summer the park is open to visitors. Leave everyday concerns behind and savour the silence. Carpe diem – Seize the day!